Charlie White Award

Charlie was a keen member of the club and was well known for his “Dingo” 2 m antennas. He celebrated his half-century of being licensed as an amateur radio operator in 1982, and became a Silent Key in 1985.

The Charlie White Award is presented by the club at the AGM each year to a member in recognition for services performed for the hobby. The following is a list of recipients with the year in which the award was presented:

1989    Phil Gardner VK3PMZ

1991    Joe Magee VK3BKI

1993    Phil Gardner VK3GMZ

1996    Glenn Alford VK3CAM

1997    Bryan Ackerly VK3YNG

1998    Leigh Philips VK3HLP

1999    Shannon O’Keeffe

2001    Tim Broomhead VK3HTB

2001    Sam Jackson VK3HXR

2004    TBC

2005    TBC

2007    Graeme Downie VK3ZGD

2008    Richard Holmes VK3TXD

2009    Callum VK3FSDP

2011    Matthew Dulak VK3EVL

2011    Emily Garlick-Sloman VK3FEGL

2012    Wayne Merry VK3WAM

2013    Ralph Parkhurst VK3LL

2014    Damien Ayres VK3KQ

2015    Peter Forbes VK3QI

2016    Ralph Parkhurst VK3LL

2017    Peter Cossins VK3BFG

2018    Jack Bramham VK3WWW

2019    Layton Moss VK3CLJ

2020    Andrew Scott VK3BQ

2022    Geoff Atkinson VK3TL